Ack… Stop being a wet rag!

Standard

“Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented. Sometimes we must interfere. When human lives are endangered, when human dignity is in jeopardy, national borders and sensitivities become irrelevant.” – Elie Wiesel

I’m sitting beside a very cold slice of pizza wondering about all that is wrong in the world today. It’s an immense weight and I don’t mean to be a Debbie downer but seriously. Half way past 2016 and we’ve lost the likes of Alan Rickman, David Bowie and a few weeks ago, Christina Grimmie. Apart from that, we’ve had shootings, bombings and terror attacks. I almost forgot about Elie Wiesel, who died a few days ago. I watched a speech he delivered in 1993 where he picked out Bill Clinton from the group,¬†on the absence of his actions on the horror that was taking place in Bosnia at the time. He drew from his own experience as a holocaust survivor, when American media shied away from the holocaust whilst the American military shied away from bombing the tracks to Auschwitz to save on resources.

Too Much info..*sigh*

Think the point is trying it’s best to get away from here since I don’t usually write about war, terror and political drama. But it’s important, and it shouldn’t only be important to me, but to you as well. There was a shooting in Orlando, and the media covered it and everyone paid their respects to the tragedy. There are bombings in Iraq, and nothing. Over 200 killed, nothing. No facebook action to change one’s profile picture to highlight the country’s flag to show support or anything. I guess it’s a war torn country or some other stereotype label¬†that people are comfortable with. Does it make a big difference, that the topic isn’t trending? Yes, yes it does! My roommate pointed out how he changed his profile picture for the Paris attacks, cause the option was offered. People are informed, word spreads, and maybe they take two¬†minutes¬†out of their busy schedules to learn a little more. Why does it matter? Read the quote Elie Wiesel delievered during his acceptance speech.

http://www.c-span.org/video/?c3342709/elie-wiesel-bosnia-remarks

So is it unpopular to show support or to even sympathize with the victims and survivors of the bombings in Iraq? This might be an immature rant of a teenager (I just realized I’m not a teen anymore) and I know very little on the subject of war, terrorism, economics, politics, the Kardashians or even my own age, but I do know that what’s happening in the world today¬†is not right. We might have evolved to be the superior species and have crossed milestones in technological advancements and everything else that makes us feel proud about the age we live in. However with every war, every blind eye we turn to an act of terrorism or violation of human rights, to believing only that with which we are comfortable with doesn’t throw us back to square one. It doesn’t shine light on how we haven’t really evolved as a species, cause we have (Science proves it, Ross Gellar will bring his briefcase of fossils to prove it). It just degrades us. It’s so odd to think that we’ve become accustomed to hearing about shootings and bombings when we shouldn’t. It’s not supposed to be something you’re comfortable with.

I understand how as an individual, there isn’t much one can do. Firstly what does one do? I don’t know. I’m the adorable fool ranting on the topic, all we can do is not accept the fact that these things have happened. Write about it, talk about it, share your thoughts, cause somewhere out there, in this small big world we live in, there is someone who knows what to do. Maybe pay attention to who you are electing for. I know that the new mayor of Rome, Virginia Raggi has won me over. For one she shed light on Brexit and how the focus is more on the people, since it was the people who voted and even though it was a close call, the majority decided.¬†People are to take charge of what happens, since it’s easy to blame political leaders,¬†they are easy to hate anyway.¬†In my own country, it seems like there’s more attention paid on censoring a movie than there is to real issues that the citizens face. Yeah the ‘point’ of this post¬†has definitely boarded a first class flight to Bali, all independent and proactive. All for the best anyway, since I just like you (No, not I ‘just’ like you, I don’t like you, not¬†in that manner)¬†didn’t¬†understand the point. I just held onto it cause it made me seem brainy. The point evaded me.

A good way to get off a serious topic *get off*, I’ll leave now.

P.S. – I was going to talk about Game of Thrones, Inu Yasha and the Ghost in our house.

Leave a Reply

